NoMoreTomorrows

Surviving is not Living

Settling Rant

with one comment

We are a society of settlers. We settle for status quo, for ignorance, for never seeking more knowledge and education, for bad relationships, for crappy food, lousy sex, bad paying jobs, good paying jobs with companies that treat us like crap, a pill for every ill and other lies doctors sell us disguising it as the only way, bad health, no wealth, inconsiderate friends, indoctrination, entertainment programming, government programming, and I could go on…

Something snapped inside me and I decided I was tired of it.  It had been building for awhile, and I had been changing a little, but within the last couple months it finally came to a head. I don’t want to settle for status quo anymore. There is SO MUCH MORE out there.

I’ve been talking a lot on my facebook about food and clean eating. I’ve become passionate about it. At 301 pounds, there’s probably people who’d believe I don’t have much to say on the subject of healthy food, but I do. I do because I’ve lost weight eating clean food. At 305 pounds I started running. Despite the weight on my body, I was able to go from barely surviving 5 minutes of cardio to doing a fast paced latin/hip hop/cardio dance workout followed by strength training, and I didn’t die. I’m being nice to my body, and it’s responding. I believe in clean eating, and I didn’t just snap my fingers and get to it with no slip ups, I’ll probably still have slip ups. Old habits die hard, and I truly believe the additives are addictive, so I’m not always eating the best, but I’m journeying towards that. I believe our bodies behave better on good food. Our minds think more clearly, our bodies are fueled for workouts and completing our daily tasks. I cannot tell you how much energy I feel I have despite giving up what I always thought was the driving force in my energy; coffee.

It seems these days I see more bad relationships than good relationships, more people struggling with money than living well and feeling secure, more people living on medicines that seem to be doing more harm than good.

I don’t wish to discount the work that doctors have done to get where they are. That’s a lot of school, a lot of time and energy to get into their positions. However I feel that the overall system as a whole, has failed and is continuing to fail. I believe that a lot of our ails can be cured by fixing our environment and our habits, not shoving a pill down our throats. I also believe that when it comes to pregnancy, that doctors make bad choices for their patients a lot, and that women follow whatever is said to the letter, believing that that’s the only way.

And entertainment… ugh.. that stuff puts so many false ideas in our heads. We’re walking around programmed and we don’t even realize it.

I’m going to expand further on these subjects as time goes on. For today, I just wanted to rant about it, because I have realized I desire more for myself. I hope that I will have the grace to say what I can to educate and inspire others to change and that it doesn’t come from a place of judgement or arrogance. I believe there’s so much more, and I believe we all deserve it.

 

 

Written by No More Tomorrows

June 15, 2011 at 2:58 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. whooh do you feel better after having got that all out.. i do agree with a lot of what you had to say… and i do believe we deserve much more too..

    It's My Thoughts

    June 15, 2011 at 3:07 pm


Leave a Reply

