NoMoreTomorrows

Surviving is not Living

Trusting the Process

leave a comment »

“You can’t hurry love
No, you just have to wait
She said love don’t come easy
It’s a game of give and take

You can’t hurry love
No, you just have to wait
You got to trust, give it time
No matter how long it takes”

You Can’t Hurry Love – Diana Ross

I was lamenting to my best friend about my relationship and the frustration that I was having and once I talked through it and she gave me a brilliant answer and I felt better, she said “take a breath and trust the process of growing together”.

And so here we are.

Trust the process.

What does THAT mean?

It means that in life, with many different situations there is a way things go. I’ve also heard “trusting the process” talked about on The Biggest Loser. Do what you’re told by the trainers and nutritionists, and believe that they know what they’re talking about and that you’ll get the results you want.

My friend had said it to me in regards to a relationship, because the process is important. We live in a country that has a more than 50% divorce rate. I think too many people are trying to rush things, to get to the future now, instead of living the current now and enjoying the journey. This is my first relationship, it’s the first time I’m treading these untouched waters, and it’s not easy. I want to hurry up and know how it ends, and if it ends in breakup, I want to know now so I can avoid it by walking away before I’m too invested more invested than I am now. I’d rather have hurt over mega hurt. Also, if it ends in happily ever after I want to know that too, because then I can relax and enjoy.

I’m not trusting the process and enjoying the ride. Not as much as I should.

It’s the same with my weight loss. I’ve been stalled for 2 weeks. I was having success, it was consistent. I was feeling amazing, but it just wasn’t happening fast enough, it wasn’t easy, and that’s my MO when things get hard, give it the finger and walk the away.

I don’t trust the process.

It’s time for me to stop being afraid of the what-ifs, stop trying to read the last page of the story, tired to let go of control (say WHAT?!)  and just live my life, enjoying the journey, and trusting the process.

What do you have a hard time waiting for? In what way do you need to just breathe and trust the process?

Written by No More Tomorrows

June 24, 2011 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

