NoMoreTomorrows

Surviving is not Living

Tomorrow isn’t soon enough

with 4 comments

It’s been 32 days since I worked out.

Yup.

And there’s that stupid voice in my head taunting me… “See, you knew you couldn’t do it.”

The DoLife 5K is this weekend. I was supposed to be in week 5 by now. I was going to be able to run like half of the 5k without walking. But I never made it past week 1.

“See, you knew you couldn’t do it.”

My weight stalled for 2 weeks, and then I gained a pound, and it stalled at that 1 pound gain. I haven’t lost in 4 weeks.

“See, you knew you couldn’t do it.”

I set my alarm every single night to wake up at 4:45 am the next morning to get started again, and then I wake up (on my own without an alarm… because my body KNOWS) at 4:40 am and switch the alarm to 5:30, knowing I’m given up on myself yet again.

“See, you knew you couldn’t do it.”

I’m back to drinking coffee, eating a quick and gross breakfast, eating out far too much, and not drinking enough water.

“See, you knew you couldn’t do it.”

SHUT UP!!!

I’ve had enough of the stupid little voice. Seriously. What a bitch.

The truth is, I can do it, I just haven’t been doing it. I’ve let anything and everything stand in my way. It’s as simple as that. I haven’t failed because I’m weak. I’ve failed because I gave in to roadblocks and gave up, always saying that tomorrow I would fix it.  Then not following through.

So…

Because I’m worth it…

Because I want it…

Because I don’t want to see 303 next Monday on the scale…

Because I don’t want to die in my first 5K…

Because I can…

Because I want healthy babies…

Because I want to save my life…

Because I want to get it so I can help others get it…

Because tomorrow is never promised…

I’m going to work out tonight…

even if it’s hot,

even if I’m tired,

even if I don’t feel like it, e

ven if I get home and something tries to get in my way,

even if I have no stamina and feel like I’m going to die,

even if….

No Excuses.

 

Written by No More Tomorrows

July 11, 2011 at 9:15 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you go Carries, you inspire me!! I do what I can, am working on the eating part now. have to go along with Vernons diet and it’s gotta be good for me too. this 70 year old body isn’t what it used to be but try to be as mobile as possible. love you girl!

    Mary Helen

    July 11, 2011 at 9:55 am

    • Thank you. I worry about getting to 70 and never knowing what it was to be healthy or, even worse, NOT making it to 70. Or being too unhealthy to ever have kids. Or teaching my kids bad habits and passing obesity onto them. Following Vernon’s diet is good, for him and for you. I’d be pretty mad at my significant other if I had to eat well for my health and he sat and ate the stuff I wanted in front of me, lol.

      No More Tomorrows

      July 11, 2011 at 10:04 am

  2. Believe in yourself and don’t listen to your inner critic or gremlin as I call them. Surround yourself by positive people…..because we all stumble…and we all need encouragement to keep on going. You will reach your goals and I really believe in you!!!

    Tara Vandenheuvel

    July 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm


Leave a Reply

