NoMoreTomorrows

Surviving is not Living

Smelling the Roses

with one comment

I live to fight on another day. Yesterday was pretty craptastic so I avoided writing. But I read your comments and encouragement and am appreciative. Very. Continuing for a minute with Celebrity Rehab, something I see on there is how crappy everyone feels the first little bit as they’re coming off their drug(s) of choice.  I watch that and I think “Why would anyone want to do that twice?” As in, once you’ve detoxed once, I would think that you wouldn’t ever put that crap in your body again so as to avoid feeling the same way in the future.

Wrong. Our memories aren’t always so far reaching. As it is with bad foods. I’ve known in the past how crappy I feel when I eat bad stuff, so wouldn’t I want to avoid the icky feeling from ever happening again? Well, one would assume that’d be the case, but no, and as evidenced by the other day and my sugar-filled afternoon. Well, I’m paying for it. Yesterday I felt a little icky, but I still wasn’t eating the greatest of foods. Today, since mostly eating very well and very light, my body is trying to flush everything out, and I feel miserable. MISERABLE.

In case I ever want to do that to myself again… I have one thing to say to myself….

STOP!!! REMEMBER HOW MUCH YOU FEEL LIKE ISH RIGHT NOW AND PUT THAT ISH DOWN RIGHT NOW!!!

Moving on…

Saturday was the first time I ever ate a real cherry, as in, not a maraschino one dipped in sex on the beach. A real live, actual fruit cherry.  So I went to the grocery store yesterday and bought some Rainier Cherries. Pic below is not mine. I just haven’t worked out the whole picture taking thing yet. But blogs are more fun with pics, right?

 

Hello lover

And on to the bit about roses and my lesson for today (though it stemmed from last night)…

I tried to cook dinner last night, and due to the Man, it got jacked up. I’m not blaming him, he took responsibility.

So, my sexy hunk of a man took it upon himself to do dinner. Can I just say, That’s Hot.

He asked me to grab some veggies out of the fridge, and while he’s VERY meticulously cutting them up and taking forever to do so, and I’m hungry because I had planned for us to have had dinner ready over an hour prior, I tell him I have a food chopper.

And the lesson begins.

He tells me that I shouldn’t be in such a rush for dinner.

Hello?! Remember that dinner that you made me destroy. Yeah, we would have been full by now and watching tv or listening to lectures, instead we’re standing in the kitchen making dinner and my tummy is unhappy!

I didn’t actually say that to him, just thought it.

So, he begins his schpiel about food. He talks about loving good food, hating bad food, and respecting food in order to enjoy it and savor it. Plus, taking longer to cook makes you less hungry.

LESS HUNGRY?!

Okay, so even though I was thinking I was dying of starvation, I did listen to what he had to say, and I did learn, and I do agree. It all made sense what he was saying, but I don’t know how well I’m retelling the lesson.  When he was talking about it, it made me think of the book French Women Don’t Get Fat and I asked him if that was the same concept of that book. He said he didn’t know because he hadn’t ever read the book, which I haven’t either, but I’m pretty sure it’s probably a similar concept.

So, the lesson?

That doesn’t apply to just food. Americans are in a big fat hurry for everything. Did you know that other countries don’t even have drive ups at places? You are forced to go inside banks, inside stores, inside everywhere.

*Gasp* The HORROR!!

I know. We want things now. Fast food, drive ups, delivery, canned food, food choppers, we have done everything we could to simplify our lives as much as possible, and yet we still seem to have no time for the things that matter. How is it, that in the days of old, when things took far longer to complete because of the lack of technological advances, they still seemed to have more time for each other?

It’s time to slow down. It’s time to appreciate the things in our lives and savor them. We all have responsibilities, and we should handle those, but not everything needs to be rushed through just so that we can fill our times and our lives with a bunch of meaningless things that keep us busy but never really accomplish anything.

Slow down.

Smell the roses.

And savor your food.

And your life.

Written by No More Tomorrows

July 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Slowing down as of today 🙂 love the lesson x thanks for sharing.

    mindwaffles

    July 14, 2011 at 1:19 pm


Leave a Reply

