NoMoreTomorrows

Surviving is not Living

Biggest Loser Week in Review: Episode 3

leave a comment »

I finally watched this week’s episode of the Biggest Loser. I don’t know if you watch the show and have watched previous seasons, but as someone who started in season 3 and has watched everything since, I have to say, I’m starting to lose the love. Am I the only one?

I don’t know if it’s the drama, or Jillian not being there, or if the behind the scenes people have changed, but it’s not the same show I’ve watched before. Usually I find myself connecting to the contestants and picking out a few favorites in the first episode or two. This season I really can’t think of even one I’m all that drawn to. I’m starting to think I’m only watching because of:

Don't you just want to lick his abs? Oh, is that just me?

Him.

The show still inspires me a little, and it still makes me think about myself and my journey. But it’s not really teaching me anything new and I don’t have a contestant I’ve invested my interest in to see their journey.  I’m feeling disappointed.

It was NFL week on the Biggest Loser this week, so at their first challenge and at their last chance workout, there were NFL players present. Of course this made Antone talk again of his NFL days and about how badly he’s let himself go. All of his tears seem so fake. And I’m left feeling like I want to tell him to man the eff up and stop crying. It’s not that I am of the ridiculous belief that “real men don’t cry” but I am of the belief that “real men don’t cry for dramatics”, which is all I’m feeling from him, whiny dramatic fake tears.

Courtney of the black team won the individual challenge, which amounted to her getting $5,000, a nice prize.

In the team challenge they were to work out for 4 quarters. 15 minutes of a workout, followed by a 10 minute rest, for 4 repetitions. Their challenge was who could burn the most average calories as a team during those 4 quarters. As usual, black team won, followed by red, and blue team came up last. The black team won a spa day, which they happened to turn down in the interest of keeping their minds focused on their weightloss and not getting distracted.

I literally laughed out loud during “halftime” when Ramone, during his interview, said “This is where we bring the pain. This is where we win.” More dramatics. I’m not watching the show for fake inspiration and motivation. If you’re naturally motivating and entertaining then awesome. But I don’t need something forced. Everything feels forced. Fake.

I was pretty intrigued by the calories burnt though. Even the blue team coming in last burned 764 calories. Burning 764 calories a day for 5 days a week would get you to 3500 calories which is a pound. An hour a day is really beneficial when it comes to weightloss. It’s not the only thing, but it would be a big contribution. Everybody has an hour in their day they could do it. I really believe that.

During the challenge Jessica mostly did spinning. That mixed with whatever else she did during the week helped her lose 11 pounds at the weigh in! ELEVEN! I have a feeling that spinning really is a good workout. My girly bits are screaming at me for even considering a spinning class, but I know it’s a good idea. I have it on my radar. Girly bits be damned.

Jennifer, who was instructed to not do any weight bearing exercises managed to drop 16 pounds in a week. Okay, so what’s our excuses? She can’t walk, run, do jumping jacks, etc but she lost 16 pounds with her workout variations. That’s pretty phenomenal.

Bonnie made me cry when she was on the scale. After a couple weeks of real struggles on the scale, she pulled out a 7 pound weightloss. She looked right at the camera and said she was 63 years old and still did it, even though it was a slow weightloss, “So get off the couch and start doing something, no matter how old you are.”  It’s true. Excuses aren’t getting us anywhere. Nobody is too old to do it, and doing it will only extend your life.

The red team lost the weigh in. And this is where I pretty much decided that it’s the red team that is the source of most of the dramatics. Pretty much all the teams have always had tears when it comes to voting someone off. You’re changing your life right beside people. You’re going to bond, and it’s going to be hard to send someone home. I get that. But red team took it to ridiculous heights

It was kinda like…

'Nuff Said

They ended up sending Patrick home by a vote of 3-2. In the update I was really happy for Patrick. He started at the ranch at 387 pounds, and in the update he was down to 296. I think when he comes back for the marathon he’ll be one of the people to beat.

By the way, the previews from next week show Dolvett riled up about losing. He’s even sexier when he’s angry.

Stay tuned.

Written by No More Tomorrows

October 7, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Leave a Reply

