NoMoreTomorrows

Surviving is not Living

Is “fat” a bad word? My response

with 4 comments

Yesterday there was this.

I shared the post on my facebook and I responded with:

Since when does obesity take away someone’s humanity? Are we not still people who matter in this world? Fat people make him money everyday. If all he wants in his facilities are fit people maintaining their fitness, than he’s doing a good job at guaranteeing that’s what it will be.

And today came this.

I have tried about a dozen times to post my response but it keeps telling me there’s invalid information. I am tired of trying so I’m posting my response here and will drive the traffic to me instead. 😉

I am not offended at the word fat. And to reduce the outrage to being simply about a word is to entirely miss the point of why a community is angry.

 Essentially, the way in which it’s written says this, “Society doesn’t like fat people, and you’re not going to get ahead while you’re fat, so get thin so you can be accepted.”

 Is that the reality? Yes, it is. Should it be? No, it shouldn’t. It is not up to me to lose weight so that I can be accepted by society. It is up to society to stop being ignorant and judgmental and realize I don’t care who accepts me, because I accept me. I have never lived with the idea that I couldn’t achieve something because I am fat. And I have been fat my entire life. I see the looks. I hear the name calling. I was 136 pounds when I was 9 years old. I broke 200 in middle school, and 300 since I turned 25. I know what it is to be fat. That’s all I have ever known. But I never let it stop me. I played sports. I went for jobs I wanted, and was hired to every single job I interviewed for. I have dated men that would make other women drool in jealousy.

 If name calling and bullying would make me lose weight I’d be thin by now. It doesn’t. It doesn’t work. And if it does, that’s not right. Why is okay to shame somebody into a socially acceptable size? It’s not. I started my journey to health because I made a decision that I wanted to live, and I wanted to have healthy babies and be around to see them have babies. I did it for me. Screw society and it’s ignorance.

 If McDonalds was to say that people who eat fast food are losers, I imagine they’d lose business. It’d be a bad move by them to do that. But essentially this is what the book has done. Hey, we’re going to tell fat people they’re not good enough to make it in life and hope they come flocking to our doors to give us business. And to even consider the notion that my mother should have been put in jail because I was an obese child is ridiculous, and far more offensive to me than telling me I’m fat.

So what about you? Join the conversation, on his blog if you can post it, or leave a comment here. Are you offended by the word fat? Do you take issue with the way any of it is worded? 

Written by No More Tomorrows

November 16, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Posted in Lessons, Weight Loss

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am not offended by the word “fat” but I used to be. Fat is a descriptive word and an accurate one for formerly 287 pound me. Just like “fit” or “thin” might be appropriate descriptive words for the current 125 pound lighter me. I think we really place a lot more onto this word, this concept of “fat” than it deserves. I mean, it is what it is- you’re either short or tall, brunette or blonde, fat or thin. Fat does not mean any of the things people hear when they are called it. It does not mean worthless, useless, bad, evil, lazy, pathetic, or any other judgement that is heaped upon the overweight by society and especially by ourselves.
    Since I stopped attaching any more meaning to the F word than it deserves, I’ve had to stop myself from using it as freely as it would trip off my tongue because other people are still attaching all this negative significance to it. Personally, I see this as political correctness being taken too far. If I can call a person thin as a description, why can I not call a person fat? That worsens the problem in my mind, making it taboo to even say the word let alone BE fat. I wasn’t personally offended by what was written in that email, sadly, I think it’s probably very true. The truth hurts sometimes, but does that mean we should sugar-coat everything? I don’t know. To me, I thought the outrage was a bit over the top.

    K8

    November 16, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    • It’s not so much that the word offended me. It’s an ugly word, but it does describe me. It’s reality. What bothered me more was the “money is allergic to fat people”, as if society’s mistreatment of fat people is okay and that we should bend to their standards instead of society bending to acceptance. I’m not saying it’s okay that I’m fat, but it is most definitely not okay of people’s treatment of the fat population. I was initially angry, and then took a step back and thought maybe it wasn’t that big of a deal. Then I realized that if the CEO of a fitness company is perpetuating this idea that fat people need to change for society, then what are his employees beliefs and how are they treating their patrons?

      Obesity does not diminish all that I am worth.

      No More Tomorrows

      November 16, 2011 at 12:56 pm

      • I guess I didn’t read that much into it. Does society judge fatness harshly? Yes. Absolutely. I didn’t see anywhere where he said that was great or okay, seems to me he’s just stating a fact- but then again, I didn’t read any more than the email. Society also judges tattoos harshly. And weird haircuts. And ways of speaking. Is it right? Probably not. But it’s reality. I have tattoos, and so I cover them up because I know how people are when I’m doing something where I know I need to be “respectable” and “professional” in their judgmental eyes. It would be fabulous if one day I woke up and people would simply realize that my tattoos in no way affect my ability to do my job. But it’s not going to happen today… if ever, so I have to work with the situation I’m in. I’d have to see him say something like “You DESERVE to be treated poorly because of your weight” to feel as angry as a lot of people seem to feel.

        K8

        November 16, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  2. I do get offended by the word fat. If someone were to call me fat, I’d get offended by their rudeness. And if someone were to call someone else fat, I’d get offended for them for the same reasons. Nobody deserves to be called fat because, in many cases, it’s not their fault. Being overweight is painful mentally so they don’t deserve to be pointed out or looked down upon for their appearance. When it gets to the point of them being unhealthy, yes, they should change their habits to get into the healthy range..but I do not think thin is the best option as people tend to take it too far. It is unfortunate thin people tend to get ahead over overweight people, though. It shouldn’t be like that at all.

    Mary @ Bites and Bliss

    November 23, 2011 at 1:40 pm


Leave a Reply

