NoMoreTomorrows

Surviving is not Living

Living Up to an Impossible Standard

with 3 comments

Click image to see difference

 

Yesterday, someone I follow on Facebook posted a link to this photo. From there a discussion followed about how we should never compare ourselves to fake images of people.

More examples of photo-shopped images.

My first thought was to say, yes, we shouldn’t compare ourselves to fake images, but we also shouldn’t be comparing ourselves at all, to anyone. I have definitely been guilty of this.  I started my journey around the same time that other people started, and some of them are farther than I am. They’ve lost more weight, can run further distances, and have gotten farther in their journeys. It’s easy to judge myself against their success and feel like a failure, like I’m not good enough. The truth is, I didn’t always put in the effort I could have, and they did. That’s why they’re further along.  It doesn’t make them better and me worse. It simply means we made different choices. I can’t compare myself to others. I can only compare myself to me.

Before – I couldn’t walk up the stairs to my apartment without getting winded.  I couldn’t go on a 5 minute walk, or complete more than a couple minutes of a workout video. I was eating fast food at least 3 times a day and drinking 600-1000 calories of soda most days. I had outgrown size 24 jeans.

Now – I can run up and down my stairs with ease. I can complete a 30 minute walk/jog with 1 minute jogging intervals. I can hold a plank in yoga. I never drink more than 1 soda per day and am working on limiting that also. I love fruits and veggies and eat fast food only a couple times a week. I am wearing size 22 pants that are starting to have give in them.

I look at that progress and I’m pretty happy. And when I look back again 3 months from now, I know I’ll have even more to report.

My other thought came from misinterpreting a comment. I thought someone was saying that the media will never change how they edit images. And I responded that that was true. The media is not going to change. Photo shop will continue to be used. And I don’t think our energy should be used in battling them, but in loving each other and reminding each other daily to live up to our own expectations. We can’t change the media, but we can change ourselves.

I challenge all of us to continue to remind each other that those images aren’t what we should be aspiring to, because they’re not real. What we should be aspiring to is being the best version of ourselves that we can be.  Stop berating yourself for not living up to an impossible standard.

I promise to remind you of that if you will remind me too. Deal?

Written by No More Tomorrows

December 1, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Posted in Inspiration, Lessons

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I stumbled onto your blog and I am hooked. I am starting exactly where you did and see a lot of my same habits in you and your writing. I thank you for sharing your life and journey and hope to have my own blog up and running so I to can share.

    Melissa

    December 1, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    • I’m a big believer in sharing our journeys. It’s when I feel alone that I end up failing the most. Let me know when you get your blog up. I’d love to follow!

      No More Tomorrows

      December 1, 2011 at 2:59 pm

  2. you’re a wonderful writer! great post.

    Trista

    December 2, 2011 at 12:39 am


Leave a Reply

