NoMoreTomorrows

Surviving is not Living

Getting Ahead… of Myself

leave a comment »

The other day I was driving home from work and two different songs came on. I could picture both of them being a part of my “after” video. I saw pictures, and I put it all together in my mind.  

The problem?

I’m not an “after” yet. I’m still a “before”. 

On the one hand, thinking about the future I think helps visualize what is possible. It puts hope in my head that I won’t always be out of shape and unhealthy. However, on the other, bigger hand, you can visualize all you want, but if you stay sitting on the  couch eating oreos, the image you dream of will never come to  pass.

I haven’t been sitting on the couch eating oreos. I’ve  been eating  pretty well, but I’m still sitting on the couch much more than I  should be. It seems like it’s either/or with me. At the beginning of 2013 I joined a gym and was going 4-5 days a week for a few weeks. And I was eating  McDonalds and Wendy’s a few times a day. Then when I started to slack off on the gym, I changed my  eating to be more healthy. But I wasn’t really burning any calories besides that which I burned at work (which I’m lucky to have such an active job. I can now lift and carry 70 pounds on my own.. kinda crazy)

I’m guilty of dreaming a lot. That in itself isn’t bad. I fully believe it’s the dreamers who change the world.  But nothing happens to a dream when there is no action. It’s just a feel good experience and  then on continues life without change.

So, that is what I am continuing to work on. Letting my dreams turn into small goals that I can reach. Working every day to be a little more focused on doing and a little less pre-occupied with dreaming. 

I think once I get that together, I will rule the world.

Written by No More Tomorrows

April 28, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Posted in NoMoreTomorrows

Leave a Reply

